2021 Assisted Suicide Bill

Currently, Massachusetts is the only state with an active assisted suicide bill. This means those well-funded groups seeking to get it passed will focus all their resources on this bill. We are expecting a public hearing some time in the fall of 2021.

Both Senate bill S.1384 and House bill H.2381 are in the Joint Committee on Public Health. From the committee’s web page, you can see the bills they are reviewing and the hearings they have scheduled. Go to each member’s page to find contact information and a district map.

Much of the anti-life legislation comes through this committee.

Public Hearing

The committee held a public hearing dedicated to these bills on October 1. You can watch the testimonies here.

Meet with Your Legislators

Schedule a meeting with your legislator and we will come with you! We are eager to speak with legislators about the serious problems with assisted suicide, but we need your help. Legislators are much more likely to respond to requests from constituents than from statewide groups.

The following state senators are cosigners as of 7/25/21 (Central MA, Western MA):

Joanne M. ComerfordHampshire, Franklin and Worcester
Susan L. MoranPlymouth and Barnstable
Rebecca L. RauschNorfolk, Bristol and Middlesex
Jason M. LewisFifth Middlesex
Michael J. BarrettThird Middlesex
Cynthia Stone CreemFirst Middlesex and Norfolk
James B. EldridgeMiddlesex and Worcester
Brendan P. CrightonThird Essex
Patricia D. JehlenSecond Middlesex
Mark C. MontignySecond Bristol and Plymouth
Julian CyrCape and Islands
Paul R. FeeneyBristol and Norfolk
Anne M. GobiWorcester, Hampden, Hampshire and Middlesex
Eric P. LesserFirst Hampden and Hampshire
Edward J. KennedyFirst Middlesex
Joan B. LovelySecond Essex
Adam G. HindsBerkshire, Hampshire, Franklin and Hampden
Harriette L. ChandlerFirst Worcester
Dylan A. FernandesBarnstable, Dukes and Nantucket

The following state representatives are cosigners as of 7/25/21 (Central MA, Western MA):

James J. O’Day14th Worcester
John J. Mahoney13th Worcester
James Arciero2nd Middlesex
Christine P. Barber34th Middlesex
John Barrett, III1st Berkshire
Natalie M. Blais1st Franklin
Antonio F. D. Cabral13th Bristol
Peter Capano11th Essex
Daniel R. Carey2nd Hampshire
Michelle L. Ciccolo15th Middlesex
Daniel M. Donahue16th Worcester
Mindy Domb3rd Hampshire
Carol A. Doherty3rd Bristol
Patricia A. Duffy5th Hampden
Carolyn C. Dykema8th Middlesex
Lori A. Ehrlich8th Essex
William C. Galvin6th Norfolk
Sean Garballey23rd Middlesex
Carmine Lawrence Gentile13th Middlesex
Tami L. Gouveia14th Middlesex
James K. Hawkins2nd Bristol
Christopher Hendricks11th Bristol
Natalie M. Higgins4th Worcester
Sally P. Kerans13th Essex
Kay Khan11th Middlesex
David Henry Argosky LeBoeuf17th Worcester
Jack Patrick Lewis7th Middlesex
David Paul Linsky5th Middlesex
Jay D. Livingstone8th Suffolk
Adrian C. Madaro1st Suffolk
Paul W. Mark2nd Berkshire
Christina A. Minicucci14th Essex
Michael J. Moran18th Suffolk
Tram T. Nguyen18th Essex
Jacob R. Oliveira7th Hampden
Steven C. Owens29th Middlesex
Sarah K. Peake4th Barnstable
Edward R. Philips8th Norfolk
Smitty Pignatelli 4th Berkshire
Maria Duaime Robinson 6th Middlesex
David M. Rogers24th Middlesex
Lindsay N. Sabadosa1st Hampshire
Danillo A. Sena37th Middlesex
Thomas M. Stanley9th Middlesex
Tommy Vitolo15th Norfolk
Susannah M. Whipps2nd Franklin
Bud L. Williams11th Hampden
Donald H. Wong9th Essex
Michelle M. DuBois10th Plymouth
Jessica Ann Giannino16th Suffolk
Elizabeth A. Malia11th Suffolk
Alice Hanlon Peisch14th Norfolk
Andres X. Vargas3rd Essex
Vanna Howard17th Middlesex
Lenny Mirra2nd Essex
Meghan Kilcoyne12th Worcester
Kate Lipper-Garabedian32nd Middlesex
Kenneth I. Gordon21st Middlesex
Adam J. Scanlon 14th Bristol
Carlos González10th Hampden
Nika C. Elugardo15th Suffolk
James M. Kelcourse1st Essex
Brian M. Ashe2nd Hampden
Josh S. Cutler6th Plymouth

All the contact information you need can be found at malegislators.gov

Not sure who your state legislators are?

Go to Find My Legislator for help.